Early Learning Centre Series

In 1987, Marshall Cavendish joined forces with the Early Learning Centre (ELC) to produce a four-book series based on Little Story Teller. In keeping with Little Story Teller’s successful formula, each 48-page book featured a selection of classic and modern stories, poems, songs, games and activities. Needless to say, a 30-minute cassette accompanied each book.

Story Teller favourites Carole Boyd, Nigel Lambert and Steven Pacey brought the stories to life with their vocal talents while the likes of Richard Hoook, Francis Phillips and Lyn Crawley once again provided their magic to illustrate the books.

This ELC series is now rare and very hard to find. We have managed to locate just two of the books and the contents of one are listed below.

The Blue Book

  • Hot Cross Buns
  • Thumbelina
  • Humpty Dumpty
  • Squeaky Shoes
  • Rodney’s Wash-day
  • Close Your Eyes
  • The Garden Under the Sea
  • Play and Learn
  • Little Bo-Peep
  • Dick Whittongton and his Cat
  • Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush
  • The Magic Box
  • Mille’s Top Hat
  • Row Your Boat
  • The Pied Piper

3 thoughts on “Early Learning Centre Series

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s